Licensees Steven and Helen Hall extend to you a warm welcome to this Historic Hotel.
Dargo is nestled in the foothills of the legendary Dargo High Plains. The town of Dargo, with a population of approximately 150, is an entry point for the Alpine National Park, Avon Wilderness Park and Mitchell River National Park.
The Dargo Hotel was established in 1898 and is open 7 days a week.
The Hotel offers indoor and outdoor dining. The bar serves ice cold beer, Bundaberg Rum on tap as well as a selection of wines and spirits.
The name ‘Dargo’ conjures up romantic notions of high plains, cattle muster’s, gold prospecting, and synonymous with Dargo is the legendary Dargo Hotel (originally Bridge Hotel). Although not the first hotel in the town it has become a focal point for the community and a destination for visitors in the area.
With the discovery of gold to the north on the Crooked River and Grant in the 1860s, Dargo developed as a stopover point, a town where fresh vegetables and supplies could be obtained.
By 1881 the gold was gone and with it the miners, some took up residence in Dargo which now boasted a population of 200. At the Licensing Court that year a ‘Certificate of Renewal and Removal’ was granted to Patrick Coloe of the Castleburn Creek Hotel for the establishment of a new hotel in Dargo opposite the Court House to be known as the Bridge Hotel.